17 Weeks

How many weeks pregnant? 17 Weeks

IMG_20150813_182621

Baby is the size of… An onion (must be a big onion to be bigger than an avocado…)

How am I feeling? Physically, I’m feeling the best I have since I first got sick. I still have to eat first thing in the morning, but I’m not waking up all queasy. I’m also able to eat pretty much normally.

Mentally – nothing has quite sunk in yet. It still doesn’t feel real. My head just can’t seem to grasp that there’s an actual tiny human growing in there. Had all gone well in December last year, I’d have been giving birth this week. I don’t know how I would have been ready! Everything seems very overwhelming and I really don’t know where or how to start preparing.

I had my first midwife appointment this week which was exciting and a little overwhelming. Everything appears normal and low risk. The midwife said I’d been the easiest case she’d seen that day. The only thing at this stage which could put me at high risk is my BMI. I’m 39 and anything over 35 is high risk. I hope they look at everything else like my low blood pressure and good sugar levels before just assuming I’ll be high risk.

Best moment this week? I definitely felt my first kicks and wriggles. I haven’t noticed any pattern yet but I’m sure I will! Also got to hear the heartbeat at the midwife appointment which was a bit special.

Symptoms? Nothing much to report really!

Purchases? A couple of maternity items for me, but nothing for bub yet! Like I said, I don’t know where to start. I don’t want to spend money on stuff I don’t need!

What am I looking forward to this week? Looks like it’s going to be a regular old week. No appointments till the week after when I have my morphology scan. I’m not looking forward to the dentist on Monday (more so the cost than the procedure!) But it has to be done. The vomiting has accelerated some cavities and I need a filling 😦

Leave a Reply

